My Favorite Cookbook

My favorite cookbook was my first Christmas present from my husband the year we were married. We had been married for 10 months when Christmas was coming and I was to host my family for dinner. My husband came into the kitchen where I was beginning to figure out my grocery list for the meal and handed me a copy of The Pillsbury Cookbook saying it was an early Christmas present and that he thought I might need it.

Now, over 15 years later the once white paperback cover has yellowed, the spine is cracked, several pages are stained or are falling out. However, this familiar cookbook is still my go-to resource for several basic recipes. The book falls open easily to the often referenced banana muffin, pancake, and biscuit recipes. This is the book I pull out when I need to know how long to roast a turkey or ham each holiday season. My first attempt at homemade scalloped potatoes came from this book as did my first pumpkin pie.

I still look to this book when looking for new recipes to try as I can be sure that anything I choose will turn out well. The book is a great reference for good basic meals, appetizers, snacks, desserts, and breads; however, the reason The Pillsbury Cookbook is my favorite is that it was a gift from my husband. I smile every time I pull it from the shelf knowing it was a gift chosen in love and thankful for the assistance it has given me as I learned to cook throughout the years of our marriage.

Leave a comment