I’m Back!

It has been nine months since I last added a post to this blog. My last post was written in June just before our life took an unexpected u-turn that left no time for blogging. Last June my husband interviewed for a band director’s position at a high school in a new town, without thinking anything would come from the interview. He was surprised to learn at his interview that the new job would mean a slight pay raise and that there would likely be a music teaching position that I could interview for, giving me the chance to work full-time in my degree area for the first time in 13 years. A week later when the call came offering my husband the job, he said yes and began a whirlwind month that meant wrapping up things in the jobs we had at the time, moving to a new town, and beginning new jobs. Every potential obstacle that came up during this transition was met in such a way as to leave no doubt that God was orchestrating this move. I got a job teaching middle school orchestra in the same school system as my husband meaning for the first time our entire family is in the same school system. Our boys see much more of their dad now that he is no longer commuting an hour each day and even though our schedules are still busy, things are much more sane than they used to be. Our home sold quickly which meant that we were able to pay off everything and become debt-free in January. We are doing well in our new jobs/schools and are part of a wonderful church that quickly embraced us and lessened the pain of leaving a church that we had been part of for 15 years. Personally, my husband has noted that I am much healthier mentally and more confident than I was before our move. Things are definitely going well and although we still miss “home” at times, we are glad for where God has brought us.

So now, I think I am ready to resume blogging (I’ve missed it) and ready to continue with this little blog that was begun just over a year ago after I ended my previous one. I am still resolved to growing in matters of faith and practical wisdom and to sharing things learned along the way. For now, let me just say that over the past nine months I have seen God’s faithfulness and provision for our family many many times and have learned to trust. I re-read a post written about a year ago called “Recalculating” in which I wrote of the need to just trust when things do not turn out according to my plans. I had no idea at the time just how I would be tested in this area. I can now say with confidence that God is faithful and trust is much better than trying to recalculate on my own.

Til next time I remain resolved,

heather

One thought on “I’m Back!

Leave a comment